Go to Home Page GuidesHow to ArticlesReviewsForumsFrequently Asked QuestionsNewsLinksPotpourri

Site Search


Category 3, 4, 5, etc. Cable Ratings
Last updated: 2/8/2004

Q.  What are the differences between Category 3, 4, 5, etc. cable ratings?


Level 1:  Basic telecommunications and power limited circuit cable.

Level 2:  Up to to 1 MHz.

Category 3 (CAT3) is rated for transmission frequencies up to 16MHz. It is typically used for voice and data transmission rates up 10 Mbps (mega bits per second).  Twisted-pair (not flat) phone wire.

CAT 4: frequencies up to 20 MHz...  Voice and data transmission rates up to 16 Mbps.

CAT 5: frequencies up to 100 MHz...  Voice and data transmission rates up to 100Mbps.

CAT 5e: frequencies up to 100 MHz.  CAT 5e components have better transmission performance characteristics than CAT 5 and are most suitable for use in high-speed Gigabit Ethernets.  Yes, 100 Mhz.

CAT 6 Supports transmissions up to 250 MHz.

Copyright, Disclaimer, and Trademark Information Copyright © 1996-2006 Larry F. Byard.  All rights reserved. This material or parts thereof may not be copied, published, put on the Internet, rewritten, or redistributed without explicit, written permission from the author.